Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

Standing Bylaw Committee of the Faculty of Engineering

MEMBERSHIP: 2023-2024

Term: Three (3) years

Name and Link to
Directory Listing
Rank, DepartmentTerm
(on leave)
Swan, Chris*Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Dean of Undergraduate Education2022-2025
Carlson, EmilyAssistant Teaching Professor, Electrical and Chemical Engineering2023-2024
Kemmerling, EricaAssociate Teaching Professor, Mechanical Engineering2022-2025
Matson, DougProfessor, Mechanical Engineering2023-2026
Miller, EricProfessor, Electrical and Chemical Engineering(2022-2025)
Oudin, MadeleineAssociate Professor, Biomedical Engineering2022-2025
Portsmore, MerredithResearch Associate Professor, Center For Engineering Educational Outreach2022-2025
Gueta, MafaldaDiversity Program Administrator, School of Engineering2022-2025
Nicholson, SimoneDiversity Program Administrator, School of Engineering2023-2026
Zantow, TaraSenior Academic Administrator2023-2026
Lamotte, ElliseAssociate Dean for Student Diversity, Inclusion, and Success +2022-2025
Caldara, GraceDirector, Center for STEM Diversity +2023-2026
Hosten, Terence A91Alumni Representative2022-2025
Sun, MichelleUndergraduate Representative 2023-2024
Carrero, AvisGraduate Student Representative2023-2024
TBDGraduate Student Representative2023-2024

+ ex-officio/non-voting

The function of the DEI in Engineering Committee of the School of Engineering is to develop policies and projects that focus on enhancing the diversity of the school (in all its aspects), provide equitable access to school resources, and creates an inclusive environment in the school. The committee will work with various entities, within and outside of the school, to 1) continually revise and update the school’s DEI strategic plan, 2) develop and prioritize concepts for cross-school DEI efforts, 3) formulize pathways and procedures within the school to implement DEI priorities, and 4) perform assessments of implemented efforts.

There are 15 members; five from the ranks of faculty, four from school and department staff, three from undergraduate and graduate student populations, one school alumnus, one from the faculty of the School of Arts and Sciences, and one from the Chief Diversity Office of the university. The Dean of the School of Engineering, or their designee, will serve as the committee chair and convener. Members get elected by their constituencies for a term of three years. 

Visit the School of Engineering Bylaws for more information regarding this committee's bylaws.